• Home
  • /
  • Old Brigade Notes
  • /
  • Heads Up – Old Brigade Dinner, Saturday September 19, 2020 / Avis — Dîner de la Vielle brigade, samedi 19 septembre 2020

Heads Up – Old Brigade Dinner, Saturday September 19, 2020 / Avis — Dîner de la Vielle brigade, samedi 19 septembre 2020

Le texte français suit.

7964 Don Bell , Adjutant, Old Brigade / Adjudant de la Vielle brigade

Greetings all!  I’m writing this on February 5, 100 Days to Graduation, and for all of us in the Old Brigade, 227 Days to the OB Dinner.  I’m carefully studying all the notes from previous years, and hope I can make this one of the best evenings ever.

Many people ask, why have a gathering like this? Aren’t we just in Kingston to spend time with our classmates?  Who needs black ties, medals, toasts and speeches?  Who needs to spend time with old fogies – i.e., anyone older than us?  Good questions. In fact, two of the five Old Brigade classes returning this year – about 40% of the members coming back – currently think they would prefer to just celebrate amongst themselves on the Saturday night.

Let’s ask the most important question first: Who needs the Old Brigade? What makes being a member something special?  Why should those entering the Brigade this year feel somehow different after they have joined?

Thinking back to my long-ago days as a cadet, I remember seeing distinguished gentlemen at the colleges wearing their unique ties and berets.  Many were quite elderly – comrades and veterans of two World Wars –  yet they all marched proudly on parade, and dined equally proudly as a group during ex-Cadet Weekends.  They were an example of what we young cadets should aspire to be, not just in our military careers, but throughout our entire lives.  Today’s Old Brigade members bring new distinction – a lifetime of experience and wisdom gained in military service, public sector and private endeavours.  It is our responsibility to show that same example of Truth, Duty and Valour to cadets of this era, and to lead them by our good example.  To do this well, we need to see ourselves as a cadré, a formed group with esprit de corps that extends beyond a single year of classmates.

This said, is the current format of the dinner the best it could be?  Yes, there are traditions – the toasts, the role call, the Act of Remembrance for those departed – but is there enough time for talking, for mingling, for fellowship?  Could a completely different format work better? These are questions I have asked the Class Secretaries of the five cohorts who will be attending Reunion Weekend this year: 1955, 1960, 1965, 1970, and our “rookie” class, 1975.  I look forward to hearing back from them.  This dinner is open to ALL members of the Old Brigade, not just the five year cohorts, so if anyone outside those years has suggestions, please send them to me directly at adjob-adjvb@rogers.com .

Because our event is so large, there is only one dining room in all of Kingston that can accommodate us – the Four Points by Sheraton on King Street.  That room is in heavy demand, and had to be booked last fall to ensure availability.  I will be working with Four Points staff to design an event that takes all suggestions for improvement into consideration.

A word of caution.  Hotel space in Kingston during this period is expensive and books up quickly.  Four Points has offered us a very attractive rate in conjunction with this event:  $229 per night plus tax for any of Thursday, Friday and Saturday nights September 17,  18 and 19.  You can book online using this link:

https://www.marriott.com/eventBook your group rate for RMC Old Brigade 2020

You can also book up to three additional days on either side of this window at the same rate by phoning the hotel at 613-544-4434.   Bookings are non-cancellable, subject to availability, and must be made not later than 18 August 2020.  Please book early, as the hotel usually fills up long before Reunion Weekend

I look forward to updating everyone as suggestions roll in.  Further eVeritas articles will follow.

Thank you and best regards,

TDV / VDV

7964 Don Bell

Adjutant, Old Brigade

//

Salutations à tous! J’écris cet article le 5 février, 100 jours avant la remise des diplômes, et pour nous tous de la Vieille brigade, 227 jours avant le dîner de la Vielle brigade. J’ai revue attentivement toutes les notes des années précédentes sur le sujet, et j’espère pouvoir en faire cette année l’une des meilleures soirées de tous les temps.

Beaucoup de gens demandent pourquoi avoir un rassemblement comme celui-ci? Ne venons-nous pas à Kingston juste pour passer du temps avec nos camarades de classe? Qui a besoin des habits à cravates noires, de médailles, de toasts et de discours? Qui a besoin de passer du temps avec des vieux — c’est-à-dire, toute personne qui est plus âgée que nous? De bonnes questions. En fait, deux des cinq classes de la Vielle brigade qui reviennent cette année — environ 40% des membres qui reviennent — pensent présentement qu’elles préféreraient simplement célébrer le samedi soir entre les membres de chaque classe.

Posons-nous d’abord la question la plus importante: qui a besoin de la Vielle brigade? Qu’est-ce qu’il y a de « spécial » d’en être membre? Pourquoi ceux qui entrent dans la Vielle brigade cette année devraient-ils se sentir quelque peu différents après leur adhésion?

En repensant à mes jours comme élève-officier, il y a longtemps de cela, je me souviens d’avoir vu des messieurs distingués dans les collèges portant leurs cravates et bérets distinctifs. Plusieurs étaient assez âgés — camarades et vétérans de deux guerres mondiales — mais ils ont tous fièrement marché lors du défilé, et ont également fièrement dîné en groupe lors la fin de semaine des retrouvailles. Ils étaient un exemple de ce à quoi nous les jeunes élèves-officiers devrions aspirer, non seulement dans notre carrière militaire, mais tout au long de notre vie. Les membres de la Vielle brigade d’aujourd’hui apportent une nouvelle distinction — une expérience de vie et de sagesse acquises dans le service militaire, le secteur public et les entreprises privées. Il est de notre responsabilité de montrer le même exemple de vérité, devoir et vaillance aux élèves-officiers d’aujourd’hui et de les guider par notre bon exemple. Pour bien le faire, nous devons nous voir comme une brigade, un groupe cohésif avec un esprit de corps qui englobe les camarades de classe de toutes les années et non d’une seule année. 

Cela dit, le format actuel du dîner est-il le meilleur possible? Oui, il y a des traditions — les toasts, l’appel nominal, l’Acte du souvenir pour ceux qui sont partis — mais est-ce qu’il y a assez de temps pour parler, pour se mêler, et pour se côtoyer? Un format complètement différent pourrait-il mieux fonctionner? Ce sont des questions que j’ai posées aux majors de classe des cinq cohortes qui assisteront à la fin de semaine des retrouvailles cette année: 1955, 1960, 1965, 1970, et à notre classe «recrue», 1975. J’ai hâte de les entendre. Bien sûr TOUS les membres de la Vielle brigade sont invités au dîner et non seulement les cohortes de cinq ans; donc si vous êtes quelqu’un qui n’est pas de années des cohortes en question et que vous avez des suggestions, prière de me les faire parvenir directement à adjob-adjvb@rogers.com

Parce que notre événement est si grand, il n’y a qu’une seule salle de réception dans tout Kingston qui peut nous accueillir — le Sheraton Four Points sur King Street. Cette salle est très en demande et a dû être réservée l’automne dernier pour garantir sa disponibilité. Je prévois travailler avec le personnel de Four Points pour concevoir un événement qui tiendra compte de toutes les suggestions d’amélioration qui me parviendront.

Un mot d’avertissement. L’espace hôtelier à Kingston pendant cette période est dispendieuse et les réservations se comblent rapidement. Four Points nous a offert un tarif très attrayant en pour notre événement: 229 $ par nuit plus taxes pour le jeudi, vendredi et samedi soirs, soit les 17, 18 et 19 septembre. Vous pouvez réserver en ligne en utilisant ce lien:

https://www.marriott.com/eventBook your group rate for RMC Old Brigade 2020

Vous pouvez également réserver jusqu’à trois jours supplémentaires avant ou après notre événement au même tarif en téléphonant à l’hôtel au 613-544-4434. Les réservations ne peuvent pas être cancellées, sont sujettes à la disponibilité, et doivent être effectuées au plus tard le 18 août 2020. Veuillez réserver tôt, car l’hôtel se remplit généralement bien avant la fin de semaine des retrouvailles.

J’ai l’intention de mettre à jour tout le monde au fur et à mesure que des suggestions me seront soumises. D’autres articles eVeritas suivront.

Merci et meilleures salutations,

Vérité, devoir, vaillance

7964 Don Bell

Adjudant de la Vielle brigade

7 Comments

  • Don Bell, Old Brigade Adjudant / Adjudant de la Vielle brigade

    February 11, 2020 at 1:58 pm

    Please feel free to add comments here as well! ** Priez d’ajouter des commentaires ici aussi!
    Thanks ** Merci
    TDV / VDV
    Don Bell
    Old Brigade Adjudant / Adjudant de la Vielle brigade

  • 3201 Aus Cambon

    February 11, 2020 at 3:48 pm

    With all due respect, Don, the Old Brigade Dinner does not belong to only 4 of the current 23 or so classes of the Old Brigade and least of all to “the rookie Class”. Experimenting with changing the Dinner’s format has already been tried. To now, it seems that only the several hundred Old Brigaders who were present at last year’s Dinner know that experiment led to the unplanned cancellation of The Roll Call. To our knowledge many other Old Brigaders have yet to be made aware of that cancellation. Our Class, the Senior Class present, proudly celebrating our “65th Year Since Graduation”, to our knowledge became the first class in the 113-year tradition of The Roll Call NOT to be called upon to stand for The Roll Call. Our Class subsequently made our position regarding The Roll Call known to you. Our Class now suggests to you that ALL other classes currently in the Old Brigade, not just 4 classes and not just individuals, be invited to make their positions known to you before any of the traditional components of the Old Brigade Dinner are subjected to change. 3201 Austen (Aus) Cambon,rmc, Class Secretary, Class of RR’52/RMC’54.

  • Don Bell, Old Brigade Adjudant

    February 13, 2020 at 12:02 pm

    Aus and Dave. Thank you for your comments. I have invited ALL members of the OB to post their suggestions here, or to email them to me. I am trying to find a format that will be attractive to the largest number of OB Members who will be attending this September. That is why I am concentrating on the five cohorts who will be in Kingstorn in great numbers that weekend. The reality is that this is a significant financial obligation which is totally self-financed. If there are not enough members who wish to attend because of dissatisfaction with the format – and this does seem to be the case – the the dinner will have to be signifully curtailed or cancelled.

  • 3201 Aus Cambon

    February 14, 2020 at 10:19 am

    Thank you, Don, for this further insight into the challenges you are facing. For the moment I am busy fielding further input from my Classmates. We will get back to you a.s.a.p. with a response from our Class. 3201 Austen (Aus) Cambon, rmc, Class Secretary, Class of RR’52/RMC’54.

  • 3201 Aus Cambon

    February 18, 2020 at 7:41 pm

    Don, my Classmates have provided further input to me in loud and clear terms. Our Class reiterates that using only 4 or 5 OB Classes out of 25 OB Classes is not an appropriate sampling of OB opinion on this critical issue that could lead to the demise of the OB Dinner. We suggest that you use the Class Secretaries of all current OB Classes to reach the optimum number of Old Brigaders. The Class Secretaries have the very best of any of the lists being used to contact their classmates. As for the various other issues that are of significant concern to us, we will send more detailed input to you directly and not as a “Comment” hereunder. Sorry that you are having these matters drop into your lap as none of them were of your making. 3201 Austen (Aus) Cambon, Class Secretary, Class of RR’52/RMC’54.