New Club Board of Directors Elected

New Club Board of Directors elects President, Vice President and Treasurer at inaugural meeting

The Club continues to transition to its new governance structure in a deliberate but measured manner. As many of you know, nine Directors were elected during the Special General Meeting of 26 March; all of whom were previously members of the Executive Committee.

On 7 April, the Club conducted its inaugural meeting of its new Board of Directors. Without question, the most important order of business was the Board’s election of its Executive which was truly breaking new ground. Not surprisingly, there were no major changes and Tony Goode was returned as the first Club President to be elected by the Board. Bruce McAlpine was the previous Club 1st Vice President and he was elected as the Club’s Vice President of which there is now only one. The Club’s venerable Treasurer, Jill Carleton, was also re-elected as Treasurer. The election of these three highly dedicated and experienced individuals will provide great continuity and stewardship.


These three positions, along with the Club’s Immediate Past President Jacques Gagné, constitute the Board’s Executive Committee although the new governance model no longer recognizes these positions as officers. It should also be underscored that the term of the nine electable directors as well as the new executive will expire when the next AGM elects nine directors again with varying terms of expiry.

With the election of the Club’s executive, the Club’s slate was updated which will remain in effect until AGM 2015. The only vacancy is that of the Club’s Honorary Club President which will be appointed during the next AGM. The Club has received a total of five nominations thus far for this Honorary Officer position and members are encouraged to nominate others.

One Comment