What’s Happening At RMC

Recreation & Competitive Club Recognition Evening

Article submitted by: Samantha Rocheleau  Recreation Coordinator

Samantha Rocheleau

On Wednesday, March 29th, Cadets, Coaches, Club Presidents, and Supervisors were recognized for all of their hard work and dedication, at the 2016-17 Recreation and Competitive Club Recognition Evening. The event started at 1900hrs in the Cadet Formal Mess beginning with cocktails and h’ordeuvres, followed by a presentation including special recognitions and awards. The evening was led by the Master of Ceremonies, CWSRO OCdt Boule, and OCdt Caron-Lavoie, and concluded with a social, which allowed guests to celebrate all of their accomplishments from this past year.

During the presentation both Club Presidents and Coaches were honoured, and received a small gift to recognize all of the many hours and support that they have offered this year. Without the continued effort of these individuals, Recreation and Competitive Club programs would not be possible.

Following the special recognition, we acknowledged the individual efforts of both our Recreation and Competitive Club members:

Recreation Club
RMCC Astronomy Most Committed – OCdt Cassandra Brown
RMCC Chess Club Most Valuable Player  – OCdt Laine Sippola
RMCC Curling Club Most Valuable Player – OCdt Mikael Lemieux
RMCC Debate Club Best Debater – OCdt Pablo Cardona
RMCC Expedition Club Leadership Award – OCdt Carmen Kiltz
RMCC Judo Club Most Improved – OCdt Dmitriy Vilkov
RMCC Windsurfing Club Most Dedicated  – OCdt Robert Fortier
RMCC Yacht Club Most Dedicated – OCdt Tristan Thomson
Competitive Club  
RMCC Rowing Club Leadership Award  – OCdt Drew Spinney

Most Valuable Rower  – OCdt Liam Cooke

RMCC Running Club


Most Improved Runner  – OCdt Andrew Juvonen

Most Valuable Runner – OCdt Logan Roots

RMCC Swimming Club


Long Term Performance Award – OCdt Carmen Kiltz

Most Valuable Swimmer – OCdt Aiden Kim

RMCC Sailing Club


MVP Keelboat Team  – NCdt Ben Antworth

MVP 420 Team – NCdt Samuel Lowery

RMCC Taekwondo Club


Rookie of the Year – OCdt Kara Lee

Most Valuable Player – NCdt Severn Mozer

RMCC Women’s Rugby Club


Rookie of the Year – OCdt Holly Tulloch

Most Valuable Player  – OCdt Melody Schonfelder


The evening’s most prestigious award, the Volunteer of the Year Award, is presented annually to an Officer-Cadet who has demonstrated leadership, commitment and has made a significant contribution to their respective club. This year we decided to recognize one Recreation Club member and one Competitive Club member.

The Recreation Club Volunteer of the Year was awarded to OCdt Tristan Thomson from Yacht. While OCdt Nicholas Landry (Judo) and OCdt Mikael Lemieux (Curling) received a nomination.

OCdt Jonathan Lapointe received the Competitive Club Volunteer of the Year Award, while OCdt Dain Saulnier (Swimming) and OCdt Em Prosper (Women’s Rugby) received nominations.

RMCC Commandant BGen Friday closed the evening congratulating all club members, nominees and award recipients. As well, a sincere thank you was offered to the RMCC Foundation for their contribution of over $25K to various RMCC clubs this year.

To view the year-end video, visit: https://youtu.be/Hgg2y2sZ9fw

To view the photo album from the evening, visit: Flickr